Mine! Mine! All Mine: monday meme challenge!

Linking from Strawberry’s Monday Meme:

Will you be saying goodbye to Second Life? Or just goodbye to creating content?

Or is it much ado about nothing? “Life goes on… stop with the drama why don’t you?”

Now, before I start with the questions, let me offer a few links that have a lot of information:

Now that you have taken a look at some of those links and caught up on what’s been going on about the TOS controversy, here are some questions to answer:

  1. Do you usually read the TOS thoroughly before you hit accept? Nope. I will read summaries. I will go look at what folks are saying about the changes. Then I’ll follow links so that I get a few points of view about the matter. I’ve spent hours reading through commentary from folks who have a better understanding of the legal aspects than I do.
  2. How do you feel about the new LL TOS changes, specially from August 15th and section 2.3.  It changes my relationship with the LL company.  It places me in a position of confusion about creating content.  My confidence, my muse to create, is stymied by the lack of response and additional information from LL.  I assume that lack of “damage control” means lack of resources to respond or a “say nothing it will only get worse” approach.  However, this response does nothing to counter my confusion or make me want to add content to SL.  So I’m keeping the social side of my SL and dropping the creation side of it.
  3. Do the changes affect you directly? Yes, directly. It changes my attitude about spending time and money on SL. I’m scaling back a bit.
  4. What do you think people should do about this new change? I’m already wary enough about TOS and most online services that I rarely use my real name anywhere.  I try to minimize information handed over to faceless organizations. However, you really can’t avoid it if you rely on services like Amazon or Email providers.  So where my hobby life or online social life is concerned, I try to be extra careful.  Now SL falls into the same “bag” as Facebook: an online service that has no respect for its clients and can spin into a new ‘posture’ with all your hours of content.  TOS changes without notice or regard for individuals.  Security of information is questionable. Security of my copyright material is thin.
  5. Are you or have you ever thought about leaving Second Life? What would you do with your time/blogs/career if you ever did? My the time does fly. I’ve put over five years into SL. Many folks have been here from the beginning, and I’ve seen lately that some come back, poking their head in the ‘window’ to look around or say ‘hi’.  The social energy of SL is still there.  I’m very happy with the tech side of SL (spending money on my computer often enough to keep it trim, to keep it current) and I think the overall strategies of the company to make things easier for Users is great.   And yet…  I am a creator.  It is not just spending time with the people of the Steamgrid and SL world that keeps me intrigued in SL. The idea that LL is ham-handed on occasion is not new.  What is new is the idea that speaking up to clarify a situation is not required. LL needs to have a Virtual Ambassador again that can spend time talking to the grid population and getting folks on board with what the company is doing. They need a press secretary who understands what it is like to live in SL and why handing out these changes without respectful communication is damaging.

Take care, people.

Categories: events, meta, www | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

E.V.E

Art, design and fashion for your virtual life

CTRL-SHIFT-H

Featuring Second Life Homes

enjoy the coffee

second life fashion, design and coffee

Talking With Rainbows

victorian steampunk rp in the second life of Caledon

DJ Poppy

Music is the voice of the soul

